In the Sight of all

The psalmist writes, “How great is your goodness [O Lord] which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind” (Ps. 31:19).

The great goodness of the Lord is stored up for those who fear Him, for all who trust in Him.  But what is the goodness?  Eternal life, of course. And truly this will be before the sight of all mankind on Judgement Day.  But that’s not all of it.  His goodness is also the cross, which was done in the sight of many.  The resurrection, too, was attested to by over 500.  His ascension was done in the sight of the children of man – at least Twelve of them.  But even now the goodness of the Lord, which He has done for those who trust in Him, is done in the sight of the children of men.

How great is your goodness, O Lord … which you have done in the sight of all for those who trust in you!  For you have prepared a place for me, a dwelling place in your Temple.  You have built a city around me and hemmed me in on every side so that I cannot be removed. You have surrounded me with your armies and commanded them to watch over me.  You give me the Bread of Heaven and the Cup of Salvation.  You, O Lord, have opened my lips that my mouth should declare your praise.  How great is your goodness, O Lord, which you have done in the sight of all.

Our Lord gathers us together in the sight of all, saving us from sin, death, and the power of the evil one.  Even in places where His people must meet in secret, the children of men still know we meet.  The gathering – more commonly referred to as “church” – is the goodness of the Lord as much as anything, more so for me.  For what advantage is to me if the Son of God bled and died and rose again but I do not believe and so do not gather to Him? But His words, “For you,” require me to believe.  And in believing, I am gathered and the goodness of the Lord stored up for me and is given to me at the time and place appointed for me.  And this before the sight of the children of men.

Now boasting in the Lord makes sense.  Now I will boast that my Lord and my God does great things for me, He gathers me to Himself.  Not in the spirit only, neither in hyperbole, but body and soul in real time and real space.  He gathers all His saints in His Temple, and they all cry, “Glory!”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

