Above My Desk

Above my desk in my study hangs a crucifix, a picture of my Lord and my God obeying the Father’s will on my behalf, for my blessing and benefit. An icon.  No, not an official Eastern icon, but an icon none the less; a picture into heavenly places where my Lord stands before the Father making His case for me by the stigmata he bears.

Whether I do good or evil, right or wrong; whether I obey or disobey, do my duty or neglect my calling; whether I pray with diligence or forget my prayers; there hangs my Lord for me.  Independent of my wants or my thoughts, free from my sins and not motivated by my love.  There He is, for me, hanging above my desk in my study, always more ready to give than I to receive, always more willing to do than I am to ask, always praying on my behalf.

2 Responses

  1. Yes, indeed. Having just returned from an extended trip to Germany, I can witness that the church of our roots still has the crucifix central. We were in only two churches out of many where the crucifix was not the main altar piece.
    Just last night at a presentation about our trip, I made this very point. One person said, “But we believe in a risen Christ, not one who is still on the cross.”
    I said , “Yes, many people believe this way, but I think the main reason we have eliminated crucifixes has been to distiguish ourselves from the Roman church and/or our Germanic roots in the mid twentieth century.” If you look in the sacristy or the closet or the attic of most of our churches you will still find the crucifix that was probably used in the church up until 1917 or 1940 or 1955.
    As someone else has said, if you want a symbol of the resurrection, use the empty tomb, or the ascending Christ. But a cross is always a cross, even if empty.

  2. As Fr Jim knows, I am in great agreement with him and and have many a crucifix hidden in church basements and attics. I think that it is the very earthy incarnationalism of the crucifix that make so many of us uncomfortable. The visceral reminder that the cost of out redemption is a cost paid in flesh and blood, in pain and torment. We bring forth thse dust icons to help us remember that dust we are and to dust we shall retuen

Leave a Reply

